Marsala is the Pantone 2015 Color of the Year

I confess: I had never heard of Pantone before 2014. I remember reading on AllLacqueredUp that Pantone named Radiant Orchid the Color of the Year, and I was like, “Yay! …Who’s Pantone?” It’s like J.D. Power and Associates. Is it a guy? A business? A lawfirm? A music group? I thought Pantone might just be self-appointed nail polish experts. They sort of are. 

The Instagram profile describes Pantone as “Worldwide standard for color communication and inspiration since 1963.” Ohhhh…it’s a standard! Huh? Anyway suffice it to say they know and love analyzing color and helping people celebrate it in their fashion. 

This year’s Color of the Year is Marsala. 



I thought Sally Hansen Xpresso fit right in! It applies so smoothly and easily since it is a quick-dry polish I can slap it on and go live my life! 



Another color I came across during a Duane Reade (owned by Walgreens) sale on O.P.I. is OPI I Knead Sourdough. Opaque in two coats and flawless application with the famous pro-wide brush. Glossy and gorgeous. 



On sale at Duane Reade for $4.79. I kept coming back to get a couple more bottles and learned the colors aren’t being discontinued but the product won’t be carried there anymore. There was a woman dumping them into a bin and I wanted to snatch them all! “You won’t need these anymore right?” 



I got the idea for the nail art from Michelle (follow her on Instagram already!) and loved how Essie Beyond Cozy was opaque on the first swipe! That lovely, pale, sage green pictured above is Essie Maximilian Strasse-Her. Let me see that lovely wine and champagne mani one mo’ again!



What’s your favorite Marsala color? Let me know in the comments! 

About Abbi Crutchfield

Abbi Crutchfield is a comedian and host of You Can Do Better on truTV. She has been featured on NBC, VH1, CollegeHumor and in national commercials. She is a contributor to Someecards, and her jokes are listed among the Best Tweets of the Year by Huffington Post Comedy. She is a UCB alum and produces the popular stand-up hour The Living Room Show weekly in Brooklyn.
This entry was posted in Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

