Nail Fail: Too Many Layers

IMG_9690

Happy Election Day! Happy Mani Monday! While I don’t have any spiffy, patriotic designs to show you I do have a Nail Fail.

Today’s Nail Fail is too many layers. I slapped on three coats of Sally Hansen Continuous Treatment as a base coat with the hopes of leaving my nails alone for a week so they could grow. Applying and reapplying polish seems to dry out my tips and cause chipping.

Alas, I couldn’t resist trying out a new bottle of teal with bright blue glitter. According to my stash I’m a big fan of this color (see my comparison of RBL Monologue with Wet n Wild Blue Moon). So I slapped on some $2 quick-dry Essence Miss Universe that I discovered at Walgreens.

I was also chomping at the bit to make a jelly sandwich, and I’m not talking about a snack! A jelly sandwich is the technique the Nailluminati call layering a translucent color–or “jelly”–with glitter. The effect is glitter suspended in colorful jelly! I used my favorite Nanacoco Snowflakes as the glitter and Sally Hansen Ice Tint for the jelly. Ice Tint is a blue so faint it almost looks clear, and after four layers all I got is the look of corpse hands.

I didn’t let any of the layers dry adequately before I went to bed, so the result was sheet marks (like the kind a sweater made on your face when you fell asleep in class), shrinkage away from the tip, and a few visible nicks.

Not all of my manis come out perfect. It’s always good to be patient, but if you’re like me, and you like to apply right before bed time for meditative purposes (real talk: we’re procrastinators) then follow a few tips:
1. Choose a quick-drying color like SH Insta-Dri OR
Choose a polish with a built-in base or top coat like SH Complete Salon Manicure or Revlon Colorstay Gel Envy OR
Pick a color that is opaque in one coat
2. Use a fast-drying top coat. My current go-to is Sally Hansen Insta-Dri Top Coat (in the red bottle)
3. Sleep with your hands resting above your head. With enough practice and determination it becomes easy! Plus you’ll really work your triceps.
4. The third tip is fake

About Abbi Crutchfield

Abbi Crutchfield is a comedian and host of You Can Do Better on truTV. She has been featured on NBC, VH1, CollegeHumor and in national commercials. She is a contributor to Someecards, and her jokes are listed among the Best Tweets of the Year by Huffington Post Comedy. She is a UCB alum and produces the popular stand-up hour The Living Room Show weekly in Brooklyn.
This entry was posted in NailHack and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

