Periwinkle Swatch

IMG_9649

I  have finally collected enough periwinkles to do a proper comparison swatch!

Sinful Colors Blue La La is a soft, purple-leaning periwinkle creme and applies beautifully. Milani Power Periwinkle is strikingly similar to Blue La La in the bottle but on the nail it has more electric blue in it.

IMG_9650

I had my eye on Essie Boxer Shorts (Fall 2012) for months, and I finally found it on clearance at a T. J. Maxx, one of my favorite stores in NYC for past season favorites. It may be a bluish purple, but it almost passes for violet, and the perfect cool violet for my skin tone! Lot-Less is another store I love, and it’s where I found Essie Lapiz of Luxury (Summer 2010). I was surprised by its pale color and dustiness, but it’s lovely. Its first layer applies sheer but it’s opaque after three coats.

L’Oréal Skinny Jeans is a dead-on dupe–color-wise–for Blue La La, but it has a fabulous gritty texture. I missed the original texture train, but I don’t mind jumping aboard late. It makes my fingers feel like they have a layer of protection. The Nailluminati say that textured polishes tend to “drink” topcoat, so if you would prefer a glossy finish you need a specially formulated one like Gelous Advanced Nail Gel Coat. I don’t have a bottle yet, but I’ll let you know when I do!

What’s your favorite periwinkle? Let me know in the comments!

About Abbi Crutchfield

Abbi Crutchfield is a comedian and host of You Can Do Better on truTV. She has been featured on NBC, VH1, CollegeHumor and in national commercials. She is a contributor to Someecards, and her jokes are listed among the Best Tweets of the Year by Huffington Post Comedy. She is a UCB alum and produces the popular stand-up hour The Living Room Show weekly in Brooklyn.
This entry was posted in Reviews, Swatch What You're Doing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

