On a Dark and Stormy Nail

IMG_6799-0.JPGSorry orange but off-black is the new black!

OPI Vant to Bite My Neck is a deep, dark purple creme from the 2013 Euro Centrale collection. Unlike most of my unconventional colors (that are inherited from friends) this one I voluntarily purchased in an effort to step outside my comfort zone. It is opaque in two coats and goes on so smooth I regret that my nails aren’t longer!

I have another dark OPI color in my stash that I bought back when I didn’t read color names. I thought it was a basic black with shimmer. Later I learned it is OPI Light My Sapphire, and when you hold the bottle up to the light you see purple. With a name like sapphire and a purple tint I realized this may be my first blurple! That’s the Nailluminati word for bluish-purple.

I stopped being disappointed that it wasn’t black enough, and decided to stop whining that “some dark colors are so close to black they may as well be black, and then what’s the point?” Well sometimes you want a black with depth(!) that turns into a color in the sunlight! Plus I am on a no-buy so I am trying to appreciate all my colors for what they are, not what they aren’t.

This about sums it up: Hello darkness my old friend! I have a newfound appreciation for dark colors and I can’t wait to explore them in the fall and winter. I already have a burnt umber, an inky navy and a murky gray green I can’t wait to flaunt. For now this purple is so fun to apply I just sit back and enjoy the glide!

Nailluminati status: Seeing the Difference Between Black and Off-Black level achieved.

What is your favorite brand and color of off-black? Let me know in the comments!

About Abbi Crutchfield

Abbi Crutchfield is a comedian and host of You Can Do Better on truTV. She has been featured on NBC, VH1, CollegeHumor and in national commercials. She is a contributor to Someecards, and her jokes are listed among the Best Tweets of the Year by Huffington Post Comedy. She is a UCB alum and produces the popular stand-up hour The Living Room Show weekly in Brooklyn.
This entry was posted in Swatch What You're Doing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

