Glitter Me This

IMG_7329.JPGTrying on rosy pink sparkles at the end of summer and plan to do it all winter. There’s no bad time to shine.

I have been wary of using glitter for a while because of the gritty texture it leaves on the nail surface (that can catch on sweaters and collect cotton ball strands) and how long it takes to remove. In the mean time I have been collecting bottle after bottle of funky glitter toppers because they look so cool. It’s like the pasta-maker my sister got me. Looks awesome and has so much potential, but will I have the time to fuss with it?

It was time to try one, and there was no bottle better to start with than the half-empty one I recuperated from my nail polish swap party.

Revlon Super Top Speed Color in “Shazam 330” is a mix of silver, dark-pink, light-pink and fuchsia micro-glitter in a pinkish translucent base. My bottle is so old its label has almost completely rubbed off.

Ever since I performed in Santa Monica in the fall of 2013 and stopped into a Sephora before my show, I have been searching for a dupe for Nails Inc “Chelsea Square” which was too pricey for my travel budget at the time. Shazam doesn’t seem as gold or sparkly as Chelsea Square but it has such a soft, neutral tone and so much dimension I love it. Plus when it runs out I still have a bottle of WetnWild “Sparked” from the Wild Shine line which to my naked eye looks like a dead-on dupe.

Application was easy with this one because it is a gloopy monster. If one dab left it too chunky on the nail I would just pat it down with my bare finger and mush it into position like Play-Doh. Michelle at All Lacquered Up has a great tutorial on applying glitter so that it spreads evenly over the nail.

Removal is easy thanks to the foil method perfected by the Nailluminati. They use a small cotton ball soaked in remover and place it on the nail, then wrap the finger in a small square of foil. After 5 minutes you can pinch the foil-capped cotton, massage the nail in a twisting motion, and the glitter comes off. A short cut is also to use a special base coat like “Glitter A-Peel” by NailPattern Boldness or “Glitter Off Peel-able Base Coat” by OPI so that the glitter peels off. I hear “Yellow Stopper” as a base coat does the same job, but that may mean your glitter only lasts a few days.

IMG_7334.JPG

This about sums it up: Sometimes facing your fears means gaining glitzy, glamorous nails.

Nailluminati Status: Glitter Level achieved

What have you been putting off that you really want to get around to? Let me know in the comments!

About Abbi Crutchfield

Abbi Crutchfield is a comedian and host of You Can Do Better on truTV. She has been featured on NBC, VH1, CollegeHumor and in national commercials. She is a contributor to Someecards, and her jokes are listed among the Best Tweets of the Year by Huffington Post Comedy. She is a UCB alum and produces the popular stand-up hour The Living Room Show weekly in Brooklyn.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

