Dupe Test: Tomorrow Never Dies vs. Eternal Oceans

20140719-120123-43283437.jpg
I did a grape job uncovering this scandal.

I had my eye on O.P.I. Tomorrow Never Dies when I found it as a dusty (Nailluminati term for old color collecting dust) at my local CVS. It’s from the James Bond Skyfall Collection (winter 2012). I waited a few days–I rarely buy on the first browse. The only thing I ever get my hands on immediately is food at a party–but when I went back to buy it I noticed a look-alike in CoverGirl Eternal Oceans on sale for 50% off.

A sale price plus coupons means you are coming home with me tonight (along with the party food I have stuffed in my purse).

20140719-120123-43283771.jpg
Even when I turned the bottle and looked very closely all I could see were the same pink and blue sparkle flecks in the same swirling deep purple abyss. Unfortunately all my camera could pick up was that electric blue highlight but trust me, this has shimmer-a-plenty in the bottle. They both look like the kinds of satin bed sheets Prince probably has.
To the dupe-ratory!
20140719-115813-43093787.jpg
I have not done a wear test so I don’t know which formula holds up better to the test of time.

This About Sums it Up: Both are great colors. If you always wanted to try TND but can’t find it because it’s too old, the more recent release of EO should ease that ache.

Nailluminati Status: Affordable Imposter Level achieved

What is your most satisfying dupe discovery? Let me know in the comments!

About Abbi Crutchfield

Abbi Crutchfield is a comedian and host of You Can Do Better on truTV. She has been featured on NBC, VH1, CollegeHumor and in national commercials. She is a contributor to Someecards, and her jokes are listed among the Best Tweets of the Year by Huffington Post Comedy. She is a UCB alum and produces the popular stand-up hour The Living Room Show weekly in Brooklyn.
This entry was posted in Dupe Test and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Dupe Test: Tomorrow Never Dies vs. Eternal Oceans

  1. Kami says:

    Thank you so much! I have tried to get as many OPI TMD since it came out and succeeded for a year or two. Now I am on my last goopy bottle that I need to thin. I panicked when I realized it was my last bottle and it’s almost gone. So I googled dupes for and yours came right up. No trouble finding the CG. Thanks again!

Leave a comment