On My Quest to Join the Nailluminati

20140713-084756-31676924.jpg

Hot pinks are starting to glow on me. I mean I am warming up to them. These are just puns people; don’t get heated. This is “Barbie’s BFF” by Icing.

I snagged this color from the Icing clearance section when I needed party favors for my nail polish swap.

Barbie’s BFF is a warm fuscia with subtle violet-pink shimmer that you can see in the bottle. On the nail the shimmer just enhances the shine. This is my first time using a “gel-like nail polish” and having no experience with actual gel I can’t accurately compare the two. The formula was thick — the menacing kind of thickness that suggests it will create bubbles on the nail or have an interminable drying time–so I used a few drops of nail polish thinner. The brush is wide and flat which makes application very smooth. After two coats I could see the white of my nail (in their secret ceremonies the Nailluminati call this “Visible Nail Line”) so I used three coats. Topped it with the Gel Top Coat from the same Gelogic line and dry time was about eight minutes. The color did not chip by the next day but I’m a habitual color remover so I can’t speak to its duration.

This About Sums It Up: I love wearing electric colors in the summer time. Maybe this formula was thick because Icing has had it in storage for a while. If you can be bothered to adjust thickness level (and you should because thinner makes your old polishes come ALIVE Dr. Frankenstein) then you will love everything else about this polish. I’ve gotta say the top coat sure did gloss it up! And glass it up. Girl you look good won’t you back that glass up?

Nailluminati Status: Like Weather, Like Color Level achieved.

20140713-093416-34456731.jpg

About Abbi Crutchfield

Abbi Crutchfield is a comedian and host of You Can Do Better on truTV. She has been featured on NBC, VH1, CollegeHumor and in national commercials. She is a contributor to Someecards, and her jokes are listed among the Best Tweets of the Year by Huffington Post Comedy. She is a UCB alum and produces the popular stand-up hour The Living Room Show weekly in Brooklyn.
This entry was posted in Swatch What You're Doing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

